Home China A report on China’s Metropolitan Development

A report on China’s Metropolitan Development


The Institute for China Sustainable Urbanization at Tsinghua University and the Tsinghua Tongheng Urban Planning & Design Institute (THUPDI) jointly published the 2018 Research Report for the Development of China’s Metropolitan Areas on March 1. According to the report, there are 34 metropolitan areas in the Chinese mainland, making up 24 percent of the country’s land area, 59 percent of the total population, and 77.8 percent of national GDP.

The metropolitan areas in this report refer to city clusters with a population of at least 5 million people and a density of at least 1,500 people per square kilometer within a one-hour commute of the city center. These metropolitan areas are further divided into three categories, namely mature, developing, and nascent areas, according to a comprehensive evaluation of their economic strength, the contribution rate of their central city, and their overall cohesiveness.

The Hefei Metropolitan Area, which consists of Hefei, Liuan, Anqing, Bengbu, Tongling, Chuzhou, Huainan, Maanshan, Wuhu, and Suzhou in Anhui province, falls into the category of developing areas. Among the 16 developing areas in China, the Hefei Metropolitan Area scores relatively high in terms of the central city’s (Hefei) contribution rate and overall cohesiveness.